Smart,Safe,Secure Browser
» Live Score: KKR 11/2 2.0 Ovrs

UN Security Council to meet Sunday on Syria massacre

The UN Security Council will meet on Sunday to discuss the recent massacre in the Syrian town of Houla.

by FP Staff 28 May 00:00 am IST

     



UNITED NATIONS (Reuters) - The U.N. Security Council will meet on Sunday at 2:30 p.m. ET (1830 GMT) to discuss the recent massacre in the Syrian town of Houla, which the United Nations has blamed on the Syrian government but Damascus says was due to a rebel attack, a council diplomat said.

At least 109 people, including many children, were killed in the Houla attack.

The council meeting was called after Russia rejected a French and British proposal for a statement condemning the massacre, diplomats said on condition of anonymity.

Moscow, which remains a staunch ally of Syrian President Bashar al-Assad, told other members of the 15-nation council that it wanted a briefing first from General Robert Mood, the head of the unarmed U.N. monitoring mission in Syria, envoys said.

(Reporting by Louis Charbonneau; Editing by Philip Barbara)

#wcntn #typeof-social